City on laws of the district, the capital of the Dolnośląskie Province, and the seat of authorities of the Wrocław district grouping 9 nearby communes. The city is put on Silesian Lowland, in the Wrocław ice-marginal valley, on the river with the Oder and four with her tributaries which are feeding it in city limits: Bystrzycą, with Oława, Ślęzą and Widawą. He is a historical capital of Silesia, with principal city of the Wrocław urbanized area. Fourth in terms of the population numbers city in Poland – 632 240 inhabitants, fifth in terms of the area – 293 ² km. Wrocław is also one of the old towns of Poland.