The full name is The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The United Kingdom is often reffered to as "Britain", and consist of England, Scotland,Wales, Northern Ireland. It is a constitutional monarchy and unitary state. The UK has overseas territories (Gibraltar and the Falkland Islands), the Crown dependences of the Isle of Man and theChannel Islands. It islinked by close relationships with the Commonwealth Realms, where Queen Elizabeth II is the head of state. It is a member of the European Union, United Nations and NATO.